For the Son of Man is Lord of the Sabbath.
Matthew 12:8 NASB

In Crossroads, our youth pastor Austin Duncan is currently going through the Law of the 10 Commandments in Deuteronomy, and examining the present-day implications of each of those commandments. Even though they may seem so irrelevant to our lives today under the grace bestowed upon us by our Lord and Savior, there is simply so many ways we can reflect our pursuit of Christ daily through these commandments.

The fourth commandment may seem even more irrelevant than the others: “Observe the Sabbath”. I myself thought through what that meant for my daily life and Austin put it plainly for us: “God owns time.” The fact that God sets aside a day in the lives that seemingly belong to US for His glory and worship goes to show his sovereignty in how we should be using our time. Simple as that, but strikingly convicting: each and every moment of our lives belongs to the Lord.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been more and more convicted of how much time I easily waste: playing games day in and day out, browsing Facebook and watching Youtube videos like there is no tomorrow. But the fact that God is sovereign, even over all the time I spend, has made me think twice about how I use each moment of my days.

Two weeks ago, I decided that I was going to quit playing video games. And so I uninstalled every video game on my computer. Considering my history with video games, it’s quite a big deal. My childhood practically consisted of exclusively playing on my various game consoles and computer. I spent little to no time doing anything else for enjoyment. Since the beginning of senior year, I’ve had spent almost 3-4 hours PER DAY playing LoL, which adds up to quite a lot.

Even then, uninstalling these games was something that I’ve been wrestling with for a while. During fall quarter, I uninstalled LoL only to reinstall it again the next day. Clearly I wasn’t very firm in my convictions. But with Austin’s message, as well as a series of messages from both Austin and our shepherd Chris Gee, quitting my life of video games was something that I felt called to do and necessary for my growth in Christ.

It’s been quite a struggle since then, and I resorted to playing Tetris since it didn’t require me to download anything to play. But that was a timesink almost as bad as LoL was, and through a fellow sister I was convicted to quit playing that also.

Even though I haven’t stopped playing video games for very long, I already feel the freedom that comes from the time that I now have to serve Christ all the more with. I have more time to spend in the Word and in prayer, as well as to be more productive in my studies and exercise. It was a difficult choice, but it’s a well-worthy sacrifice in the radiance and glory of my God who deserves the full, undivided worship of every moment of my life. I definitely still continue to struggle to use all my time for Him and His glory alone, but my prayer is that I, and you, can continue to serve Him through everything!

Leave a Reply

