“Job the Film” (NR)

We count those blessed who endured. You have heard of the endurance of Job and have seen the outcome of the Lord’s dealings, that the Lord is full of compassion and is merciful.

-James 5:11 NASB

So many times have I prayed or told others that “God is sovereign” and that “God is good”. But little did I understand how sovereign and good he actually is. And little do I still.

We just finished viewing “Job the Film”, a “short, dramatic poetic narration of the account of Job, complete with accompanying images” (That was Albert + my combined, deliberated, and ultimately formed description of the short). It recounts the story of Job, who, amidst trials, suffering and difficulty did not fail to remain steadfast to the goodness and grace shown to him by God.

After watching the whole clip, two main questions stuck out to me and convicted me:
1. What does it mean when “God is good”? Do we really and truly believe that “in Him all things hold together” (Col. 1:17 NASB) and that “God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God” (Rom. 8:28 NASB)? In the midst of his pain, Job never wavered from his unfailing trust on the Most High. Even when Job went through his suffering he still saw the blessings that God even still poured out onto him. And that encourages me to endure for the sake of holiness and to truly trust in God’s sovereignty and goodness and grace that He extended to me; even at the cross, where I still turned away while He showed ultimate kindness to me.
2. What does it mean when “all I have is Christ”? When all is stripped away from me, do I cling to the fact that Christ is all I have, and Christ is all I need? Job went from a state of being ever blessed to being “ever cursed” in the eyes of his wife and his friends, and yet he stood solid on the fact that even when he has nothing, he still has Christ to sustain him. Could I say the same about myself when I am brought down from the highest to the lowest point in my life, with nothing to cling to except for my God?

May I constantly remember and pray the psalmist’s prayer, that “Whom have I in heaven but You? And besides You, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Ps. 73:25-26). May I be reminded of the ever-abounding mercy and grace shown to me even in the midst of my failings and my struggles. May I belong to the Lord and abide in Him, and may He be my only want and need.

Leave a Reply

